Get_’Bent

Recumbent, that is.

Tuesday, August 13, 2013, I took my first long ‘bent trip.  The high was about 77 degrees F. On the Little Miami River Trail, I got on at mile marker 33 (South Lebanon), and went up to mile 7 (Spring Valley, Ohio).  That’s 52 miles, round trip.  That’s my longest trip ever – feel great, and could do it again right now.  I saw five deer in two groups.  The route offers quite a variety of scenery.

The recumbent removes all the physical pains that accompany standard biking.  It’s an incredible machine with amazing mechanical advantage.

I’m still getting used to takeoff, and I use the Fred Flintstone technique. By that, I don’t mean that I smoke Winstons, because they “taste good like a cigarette should.” I mean I use Fred’s footwork.  Picture a heavy goose taking off from water, and he kicks at the water to help get to climbing speed.

There’s my 24-speed Sun Speedster CX:

IMG_0121IMG_0120

I moved the bell (a gift from Ash) onto the ‘bent:

IMG_0122 IMG_0123

This water flow used to be sent past an old mill’s water turbine:

IMG_0125 IMG_0128

A covered bridge near the trail:IMG_0129

Interstate 71 bridge over the Little Miami River valley:

IMG_0130

This marker is right under the bridge:

IMG_0131

A cat friend visited me, while I had a frozen lemonade at Miranda’s Restaurant in Morrow, Ohio, on the way back to South Lebanon.  (note to the NSA – I mean Lebanon, Ohio, not that ‘other’ Lebanon.  Please don’t send a SWAT team):

IMG_0133 IMG_0134 IMG_0135

 

Happy trails!

One comment on “Get_’Bent

  1. Kitty cat!!! ❤
    Sounds like a wonderful trip!! I'm glad you get to enjoy it on what sounds like an amazing new bike!! Love you lots.

Leave a Reply

